What remains of this charming little church has been in the care of the Norfolk Churches Trust since 1979. The tower stands apart from the rest of the building as the belfry stage collapsed in the eighteenth century and was never rebuilt. The western end of the nave was also demolished but has been partially rebuilt in 1753. There is now a door in the western end of the church. What remains of the nave and the chancel, is a little gem.
The building is medieval but the Victorians got hold of it in the late nineteenth century. They were responsible for the decorative stencilling in the chancel. By the mid twentieth century, however, it was in a ruined state and full of weeds. Thanks to Mr and Mrs Amos who live nearby, it was cleaned up and what remains of its medieval origins can now be clearly seen. There is a beautiful image niche and a piscine below. Most interestingly there is a ‘squint’ from outside the church which gives a view of the altar. Was there perhaps another building to the side from which people could look through? Just beyond the squint inside the church there is another lovely piscine with access from the sedilia beside it.
The Norfolk Churches Trust recently undertook major retiling of the roofs at a cost of £88,677. Occasional services are held there.
All Saints can be found at NR16 2JW, and is usually open during daylight hours. You can contact the Keyholder on 01953 455553.